GMO Committee        
Chair Enrico Noli
Vice René Mathis
Member Elizabeth Bates
Sofia Ben Tahar
Tajinder Grewal
Lutz Grohmann
Andrea Jonitz
Jean-Louis Laffont
Marco Mazzara
Dwarkesh Parihar
Elena Perri
Kirk Remund
Raymond Shillito
Ana Laura Vicario
Bruno Zaccomer
Dabing Zhang
ECOM liaison officer Berta Killermann

Forming important aspects of seed quality, particularly for international trade, are the Adventitious Presence of genetically modified (GM) seeds in non-GM seed lots, and the Trait Purity of GM seed lots.
The GMO (Genetically Modified Organisms) Committee, formerly the GMO Task Force, was established in 2001 to focus on activities in developing a system targeting uniformity in GMO testing results.
The Committee uses a performance-based approach rather than applying uniformity in methodology.

Accreditation of Laboratories for the Testing of Specified Traits:

Relevant Accreditation Documents for the Accreditation of laboratories for the testing of specified traits under a performance-based approach.
During the Ordinary Meeting 2013 in Antalya, Turkey, the proposed ISTA rules for testing of GMO traits (Chapter 19) was adopted. This has come into effect on January 1, 2014.

By following these rules, laboratories can become accredited for the testing of GM traits in seed under the performance-based approach.

Relevant Proficiency Documents
Information Platform for GM Seeds


ISTA Reference Pest List

ISTA Reference Pest List
More info »

Latest Issue of Seed Testing International

STI 159 April 2020
More info »

Seed Science and Technology

Volume 48 released
More info »

Rules 2020 available online

More info »

Seedling Evaluation Handbook 4th Edition

Available now
More info »